Announcing the LIS Scholarship Archive!

We are thrilled to announce the launch of the LIS Scholarship Archive (LISSA). The LIS Scholarship Archive is partnering with the Center for Open Science to develop a free and open archive for scholarship in library and information science and allied fields.

Librarians, archivists, and other information professionals engage in broad range of scholarship, much of which happens outside the realm of academia, including work that goes beyond the standard article or book chapter to oral histories, community works, data, and more. Through LISSA, LIS professionals can showcase, shares and preserve their manuscripts and other non-traditional scholarly materials, and solicit feedback on the full spectrum of work we do.

As librarians and archivists, we are committed to service sustainability, discoverability, and ease of access and use. By partnering with the Center for Open Science, the infrastructure of LISSA will be completely open and easily maintainable. All of the materials, and associated metadata, on LISSA will be permanently, publicly available, as well as readily indexable.

The LISSA Steering Committee is composed of a variety of information professionals across different institutions and represents the diversity of scholarship that makes up our field. You can get updates from LISSA on or Twitter (@LISSArchive). You may also reach LISSA via email ([email protected]).

We hope to see you and your work on LISSA soon!

the LISSA steering committee:

Vicky Steeves, co-director, Librarian for Research Data Management and Reproducibility, New York University

April Hathcock, co-director, Librarian for Scholarly Communications, New York University

Chealsye Bowley, Community Manager, Ubiquity Press

Lisa Janicke Hinchliffe, Professor/Coordinator for Information Literacy Services and Instruction, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Charlotte Roh, Scholarly Communications Librarian, University of San Francisco

Kevin Smith, Dean of Libraries, University of Kansas

Micah Vandegrift, Director of Digital Scholarship, Florida State University

Megan Wacha, Scholarly Communications Librarian, City University of NY

Cecily Walker, Assistant Manager, Community Digital Initiatives, Vancouver Public Library